Wednesday, April 03, 2013

Der er et yndigt land — The Parody

ThDubya has posted a parody of Denmark's Der Er et Yndigt Land (tak til Eiler).

Der er et yndigt land ("There is a lovely land") is the (civil) national anthem of Denmark. The lyrics were written in 1819 by Adam Oehlenschläger. When first published, the anthem had 12 verses, but this was shortened to the first, third, fifth, and last verse in later editions. The music was composed in 1835 by Hans Ernst Krøyer. Later, Thomas Laub and Carl Nielsen each composed alternative melodies, but neither of them has gained widespread adoption, and today they are mostly unknown to the general population.